Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Normally I am as snarky as the day is long. I have a smart ass comment or remark for every situation and question you can think of. It’s just who I am. But every once in a while I have one of those sun shiny (ooooh shiny…..) days that leave me spouting happiness. Today was one of those days, so bare with me while I spew some rainbows, puppies and kitenens type happiness.

To start with, I ask you, is there anything better than a Farmers Market? Even on my snarkiest of days I can’t resist those tables piled high with fresh food, grown and harvested by the person behind the table. There is something nostalgic about meeting the person that grew your food. Oddly enough, and anyone who knows me well will tell you it’s imposible to guess, I grew up farming. (Don’t tell anyone. I would hate for them to take away my Fashionista Card when it’s discovered I’m actually a mountain girl)

And to get back to and answer my own question, yes, yes there is something better than a Farmers Market. A Farmers Market, in the middle of the city, in the center of a park, overlooking the ocean. Something about the sun shine, (though it was cloudy today) the produce, the children playing and the scent of the ocean just transports me to a happy place.

Where, you might ask is this market I speak of? Narnia? No, this mysical beauty is the Local Harvest Farmers Market in Long Beach. A weekly market on Tuesdays from 3pm to 8pm and my new weekly shopping spot. I always knew that this market happened each week, I only live a block away. And, yet before last week I had never had the time to venture over the WHOLE block (sad I know) to check it out. Funny how sometimes life gets in the way of simple pleasures. Reminding me to take more time to smell the roses or in this case the fresh fruits, vegetables, sun and surf.

Bellow is a gallery of some of the lovely produce to be had at the market. The second to last pic is the haul that Lonnie and I got today. Fresh ripe berries and bread and cheese. Mmmmm… can’t wait to get in the kitchen! I have just the wine to go with that cheese.

The very last image is “The Optimists Creed” given to me by one of the farmers along with a joyus smile and a heartfelt wish for me to have a great day. Also shown in the image is the free Kohlrabi that he gave me after hearing how I hadn’t eaten one since I was a child.

Days like these make me so glad I live in this wonderful city that is full of surprisingly down to earth and amazing people. I LOVE the LBC! (Which is Long Beach California for those of you not from the area.)

And, I leave you with “The Optimist Creed”

Promise Yourself –
To be so strong that nothing can disturb your peace of mind.
To talk health, happiness and prosperity to every person you meet.
To make all your friends feel that there is something in them.
To look at the sunny side of everything and make your optimism come true.
To think only of the best, to work only for the best, and expect only the best.
To be as enthusiastic about the success of others as you are about your own.
To forget the mistakes of the past and press on to the greater achievements of the
future.
To wear a cheerful countenance at all times and give every living creature you meet
a smile.
To give so much time to the improvement of yourself that you have no time to
criticize others.
To be too large for worry, too noble for anger, too strong for fear, and too happy
to permit the presence of trouble.

