Tags

, , , , , ,

As you’ve probably figured out by now I love finding ways to reuse or repurpose things. Especially glass things for some reason. I think it has to do with the fact that it’s shiny. I love shiny things, sparkly things, glowy things….. ooh shiny. Moving on.

So, back to the tutorial…..
Tools and Equipment
Heres what you need: Light Bulb (obviously) needle nose pliers, regular pliers and small scissors or a screwdriver. I use the scissors, because the pair I have just happens to be the exact width of the bulb neck, but the screw driver will work just as well. And lastly saftey – I recomend a pair of goggles and a pair of gloves.

Break the Cover
The first step is to remove the silver cap from the bulb. This is surprisingly easy.

Break Cover 2
Grip the silver cap and twist slowly, it releases smoothly and will break the little copper filaments when it comes up.

Break Black Glass
This next part is where you want to start using that saftey gear. This is the hardest part, but it’s still really simple. That black part on the back of the bulb – It’s glass, who knew? Before this I didn’t. Any way, take your regular pliers or even a small hammer and tap gently to break the black glass. USE YOUR GOGGLES during this. I didn’t have any the first time I tried this and little pieces of glass hit my face! Yikes! Also I recomend doing this INSIDE of a trash can as the chipped glass does fly about a bit. (another recomendation would be a smock of some kind – I was wearing a low cut cammi and glass bits in the bra….. not fun) You also wanna put on your gloves just in case the bulb breaks. I haven’t had it happen to me, but hey, you’re using a blunt object to strike at THIN glass. Better safe than in the ER for stitches.

Filament Shot
Once you get the black glass out of the way you will see a small glass tube inside the bulb. The next step is to break that tube by gripping it with your needle nose pliers.

Filament Side Shot
Once the tube is broken you can access the rest of the fillament and ‘guts’ of the bulb.

Filamment Break
As I said I use my scissors for this because they are the exact size of the bulb neck but you could do the same thing with the screw driver. I tap lightly with the scissors to break things up and then a slight twisting motion to clear all the glass from the neck of the bulb.

Empty Bulb
Once this is done you have a lovely empty bulb.

what we did
Here is one of our repurposed light bulb projects.

There are lots of ideas all over Pintrest for great uses for this project. I’m still learning here or I would have posted a few links. So far I just can’t get them to work right……. Any tips on that would be great.

Have you tried this? What projects have you come up with?

