Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Who doesn’t love silky touchable skin? I know I do. But you know what I hate? The insane prices of body scrubs at the store. Yikes! $20 for a little container?! No way! That cuts a little too heavily into my cocktails/shopping/shoes budget. So what’s a girl to do? Touchable skin is a must, going broke getting there isn’t.
Did you know you can make a body scrub out of any number of basic items in your kitchen? Pennies girls, that’s what it costs to make a scrub at home that is safer for your skin and better for your wallet. No strange unpronounsable ingredients, just simple items that are actually good for your skin. Today I’m doing my at home Spa Day so I’ll post a few different recipes but to start with – Coffee Scrub!

If you’re like me it takes a strong cup of coffee to get going in the morning. But, did you know that coffee is also good for your skin? Aside from the invigorating scent of the coffee having an effect on your brain coffee is also shown to help reduce the appearance of cellulite! The coffee also exfoliates all the dead skin cells from the surface of you skin to reveal healthy glowing skin beneath. Win Win!

Coffee Scrub Ingredients

The recipe is SUPER simple just equal parts coffee grounds, (I used the ones from my morning coffee) and white or brown sugar (I used white today.) A table spoon of cinnamon and coconut or olive oil (I used coconut today because I was out of olive oil.)

Place all of the dry ingredients in a bowl and mix till they are combined and then add the oil of your choice till the scrub becomes the consistency you want. Some recipes say to melt the coconut oil before using it, but I never do I just add it in in its semi solid state and mix. The stirring motion breaks it down enough for a body scrub. (I also use coconut oil as a moisturizer especially after a beach day.

Coffee Scrub Complete

Once all the ingredients are combined scoop your scrub into a small jar or container and it will keep for about a week in the fridge. You’ll be amazed at how healthy, soft and glowing this scrub will make your skin!

You can find more info on the benefits of coffee as skin care here

And they also have an article about the benefits of cinnamon, I add it mostly because I like the smell, but it also has great skin care properties!

