Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Along with all this blustery fall weather inevitably comes the cold and flu season, and I, like everyone else in the world, woke up with one heck of a cold. I got the whole family pack of symptoms, stuffy head, runny nose, chills, sweats, sneezes, not a pretty picture. So this afternoon I decided to mix up a batch of my grandmothers lemon toddy. I grew up in the mountains of Colorado and as much as I am a city girl on the outside, I’ll always be a country girl at heart and I learned the medicinal qualities of most of the herbs and spices in the cabinet while spending my days in my grandmother’s kitchen.

Lemon, honey, cinnamon, and cloves all have curative properties. Cloves have a numbing effect on the mouth and throat, lemon, known for its antibacterial, antiviral and immune boosting qualities, and last but never least honey with a whole pharmacy of health benefits. And let us not forget the whiskey because hey, what won’t that cure? I was served the non alcoholic version as a child, but since last I checked, while I may not be a grown up I am an adult so whiskey for me please.

Grandma’s Hot Lemon Toddy
4 Lemons – squeezed then quartered into a large pot
6 cups of water
1/2 ts of cinnamon
1 tbls whole cloves
2 tbls honey
1/3 c of sugar
Simmer on stovetop until the spices fall to the bottom
*optional for grown ups
add 1 shot of whiskey to each mug full

Cheers!

