Tags

, , , , ,

I was roasting a pumpkin tonight in preparation for a lovely fall pumpkin soup (more on that in another post) and I was faced with a dilemma. Throw away the seeds or go through all the trouble of cleaning and roasting them. If you’ve ever done it before, it’s no secret that the process of cleaning and prepping the seeds is an arduous task at best but in the end I decided why not? I trolled trough the inter-webs searching for just the right recipe and in the end I decided to create one of my own.


What you’ll need:
1 c fresh raw pumpkin seeds
2 c water
1 tbls salt

Boil pumpkin seeds for 10 min in the salt water then strain.

Combine the following:
1 Tbls olive oil
1 ts coarse sea salt
1 ts chili
1/4 ts cumin
the juice of one lime

Toss pumpkin seeds till evenly coated. Spread in a single layer on a baking sheet and roast in oven heated to 325 for ten minutes. Stir and roast an additional ten minutes. Cool and eat!

