Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m prepping to design my first collection in nearly six years. A daunting task. I’ve been scouring the web pulling up Pantone’s Color Trend Reports, pouring over Fashion Week photos and after weeks of searching I’ve finally found my inspiration.

I noticed a few trends that ran across the board with every collection and every city but the one that spoke to me was the “Tea Length” skirt, this is the image that kicked off my inspiration:


Photo From The Fashion Spot

Something about the image reminded me of Audrey Hepburn, the shape of the silhouette looked like a perfectly updated version of the 1950’s “New Look” created largely by the late great Edith Head. Which sent me searching through all of her works for further inspirations, and I’ve found quite a few (can’t wait to show you soon.)

But, for today I’ll simply leave you with a little taste of the amazing Miss Edith Head in the form of her book, http://www.amazon.com/How-Dress-Success-Edith-Head/dp/0810921332, originally printed in 1967, much of its advice still holds true today.


Images from Live Journal

And last but not least, this great quote from her:

