Tags

, , , , , , ,

Easter Eggs Tittle Img with Logo
My inner child gets all excited around this time of year. I just can’t wait to decorate Easter eggs. It’s a whole lot of nostalgia in one tiny little project. I love coming up with new ways each year to dye them. I’ve tried so many different ways over the years, and this is the first year that I have taken on the decorating of cheepy dollar store plastic eggs.

The first one I’m going to show you is the Washi Tape eggs. I think they turned out so cute, and super simple to do. Start out with your plastic egg and cover in Washi Tape in an X pattern.
Washi Step 1 with logo
Once you have your first X pattern in place continue in the same fashion until the whole egg is covered.
Washi Step 2

So, that covers the Washi Tape egg. Now on to the regular decoupage egg. Nice and simple as well, but a little bit messier and a little bit more time consuming. You’ll need some Modge, a paint brush, and some newsprint or book pages torn into strips.
Decoupage Supplies with logo
I wish I would have taken pictures while working with the news print but, well…. My fingers were sticky, and there was wine….

Anyway, using the paintbrush, brush on a coat of Modge Podge and place a strip of your paper over the sticky surface. Use another layer of Modge Podge over the top and make sure to smooth over any creases. Lather, rinse, repeat until your egg is covered. I took th liberty of stamping our name onto one of the large eggs for fun as well.
Eggs in a Basket

And now, as promised, the fail. We’ve all been there, pretty Pintrest pics like shiny little lights in our eyes. “I can do that!” You say. Well…..
Pintrest Fail

I believe the original egg was from Martha Stewart a few years back. As you can see she clearly lied to me! At any rate, I hope you have a happy bunny day Wilders!

XOXO Idyllwild

